Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-17-2015, 06:41 AM   #1

Default Solar power set up ideas!

Hello! Newbie here.
I have a 95 dodge coachmen Saratoga for a few months now. Still putting great effort into learning all I can about it yet so far so good, love this van.
Anyways.
Solar power. Who currently has a solar power system on their class b?
Did you install it yourself? Recommendations for panel size, DIY, other ideas? I have googled and read quite a bit but still have managed to feel quite lost in the world of solar energy.
I leave in a few months to drive the Americas, average boondocking time would be 3-4 days. Estimated needing power to run the following, interior lights, charge a laptop, a few other small items, maybe a portable DVD player, the propane fridge, water pump. I would like to avoid using a generator and instead be able to rely on solar power to recharge the house battery or to power an inverter.
Thanks in advance!
monaw81 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 11:28 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Spend your money on LED lights and a good voltmeter instead. Learn how to conserve electricity. Charge your laptop when your on the road. You should easily go 3-4 days (without running a furnace) on a good, new and well maintained battery. Better yet, get two. You don't need solar to do what you're going to do, especially since you have a propane fridge. Just my opinion.

Eric

"Il Travato Rosso"
2015 Travato 59g
eric1514 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2015, 12:09 PM   #3
Platinum Member

Here's an old topic from 8 years ago on this forum that should be of interest to you: http://www.classbforum.com/forums/f8...panel-683.html

I read through it again and the info still looks to be current and useful. (prices have come down since then)