Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-28-2016, 01:10 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Something similar to Roadtrek's Voltstart?

I'm still in the planning phase and I'm thinking I like the idea of an underhood generator (large alternator) vs a stand alone unit. One of the big draws to roadtrek is the voltstart for automatically starting the engine to charge the batteries. Is there any other make that has a similar product or any third party options?
nebulight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2016, 01:18 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Try the search tool. You can autostart an engine in an ARV or you can get a DIY device to autostart an Onan generator.
wincrasher is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2016, 01:25 PM   #3
Platinum Member

I'm just starting out, so I didn't know what to search for. I'll give it a shot, thanks.
Old 02-28-2016, 02:02 PM   #4
Site Team

There are two parts to implementing "autogen" functionality:

1) Automatically starting the engine. A car alarm company can install a remote-start kit for almost any vehicle. With modern cars, it is tricky, because of all the CANbus controls and associated security. Kits are available for most makes, though.

2) Deciding when to turn things on and off. This needs some kind of programmable controller connected to the remote start and to a battery monitor. ARV uses the Silverleaf system for this purpose. RT appears to use an industrial "HMI" device from a company called "Samkoon". DIY folks can use Arduino boards or similar.

Second engine alternators are great. But, are you sure you really need automatic starting? IMO, it is overkill unless you have a pet.
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2016, 02:16 PM   #5
Silver Member