Class B Forums

Class B Forums (http://www.classbforum.com/forums/)
-   Electrical | Charging, Systems, Solar and Generators (http://www.classbforum.com/forums/f23/)
-   -   No 110 Volt Power on shore power or Batteries (http://www.classbforum.com/forums/f23/no-110-volt-power-on-shore-power-or-batteries-8945.html)

goodtogo 03-06-2019 07:45 PM

No 110 Volt Power on shore power or Batteries
 
Tried just about everything to find the problem, nothing yet.
Will look into what brand of inverter I have and maybe contact them.

Will check and see if I have 110 Volts out at the load side of the inverter to eliminate that the problem is the inverter or down the way to the electrical panel.

Anybody have this problem?

Steve
2017 RoadTrek CS Adventures XL 4x4 800 AH system.

markopolo 03-06-2019 08:32 PM

1 Attachment(s)
It might have a sticker with the name Microgreen on it - https://microgreensolarsolutionstoro...ault#ContactUs


Does one end of it look like this:


Attachment 7273


If so, there are two breakers there that can be reset if tripped.

goodtogo 03-06-2019 09:36 PM

markopolo
Somewhat like that. I have the output and input button and have pressed them but nothing, does not seem like they are tripped, soft to the touch.
My terminals are on the bottom. When the rain stop I am going out to see if I have voltage coming out of those terminals.
I have never had a problem with this. One day this week when I got home I plugged in the shore power (30AMP) and when inside to turn on the inverter and looked over and the MW clock was not lite. This is telling me no AC going to the MW. Tried the 800 AH with inverter on and still nothing to the MW.
I do not have power to the MV or any of the 110 volt outlets.
The search continues. I appreciate you help.
Steve

Boxster1971 03-07-2019 12:19 AM

Sounds like a tripped 120VAC circuit breaker (CB). I'm sure Roadtrek has them like all other RVs. There should be a 30A main CB and a sub panel for the inverter output.

goodtogo 03-07-2019 05:03 AM

Box,
reset all breaker still no power.

markopolo 03-07-2019 12:40 PM

With goodtogo's Roadtrek, I think that it is more likely that 120v shore power comes into the coach and goes directly to the inverter. The inverter's internal transfer switch passes shore power on to the coach electrical panel if that power meets programmed criteria.

There are two problems with goodtogo's RV:

1. no shore power pass through
2. no inverter power

Both could be caused by a failed internal part of the inverter. Bypassing the inverter would confirm that everything else is good.

Boxster1971 03-07-2019 12:41 PM

No 110 Volt Power on shore power or Batteries
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by goodtogo (Post 90034)
Box,

reset all breaker still no power.


OK - time to start checking wires.

Edit: Just read markopoloís last post. Roadtrek wires 120V AC direct to inverter - wow! That doesnít sound safe to me. Iíll drop out of this discussion as I know nothing about Roadtreks.

booster 03-07-2019 01:16 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Boxster1971 (Post 90040)
OK - time to start checking wires.

Edit: Just read markopoloís last post. Roadtrek wires 120V AC direct to inverter - wow! That doesnít sound safe to me. Iíll drop out of this discussion as I know nothing about Roadtreks.


I had the same thought when I saw how Roadtrek was wired shortly after we got it. Shore plug/transfer switch/wire to the opposite side front of the van to the breaker panel. Other versions that used transfer switches inverter wired directly from the shore plug, as does ours with our upgrades.


In reality I don't think it is an issue because any power used to the shore plug will be fused at 30 amps or less, so within the capacity of the wiring to the inverter, so really no different than any other thing plugged in the wall outlet. The only time it would be an issue is if you used a 50 amp to 30 amp cheater plug, and that risk would only be if there was a short in the wiring between the shore plug and the 30 amp breaker in the panel or inverter. Even that short would have to over 30 amps but under 50 amps, so extremely unlikely to happen, I think.

markopolo 03-07-2019 01:19 PM

(typed while Booster was posting) These larger inverters are installed to power the entire 30A coach including the air conditioner. There's no real need for a sub panel if the inverter is used to power everything.

As for safety, you still have a breaker at the shore power source and another breaker at the inverter. Some installations have another standalone 30A breaker in the coach before the inverter.

goodtogo's wiring route likely looks like this:

30A shore breaker ----> 30A inverter breaker (line in) ----> 30A RV main panel breaker ----> individual 15A & 20A circuit breakers

Edit: just adding that an electronic interrupt can be in there also. The inverter checks for acceptable power before passing it through and that can include a user programmable current limit. I can limit the Samlex EVO in my Class A to not pass through more that 15A from shore power for example. That useful when plugged in at someone's house. The electronic interrupt goes offline very fast, faster than a breaker.

The line of protection with the EVO for example would look like this:
30A shore breaker ----> programmed or programmable electronic interrupt ----> 30A RV main panel breaker ----> individual 15A & 20A circuit breakers

goodtogo 03-07-2019 02:20 PM

This seem to be my RT set up-30A shore breaker ----> 30A inverter breaker (line in) ----> 30A RV main panel breaker ----> individual 15A & 20A circuit breakers


I am plugged into my 30 amp outlet at my home. I think maybe I will look into programmable electronic interrupt and see if I have that set up in my inverter.

Thanks for all the input. Will keep updating if I find something.

Steve


All times are GMT. The time now is 02:05 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.