Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-27-2011, 04:00 AM   #1

Default Cinq Mars Industries First day/First impressions

http://www.imaginerv.com/Photos.aspx
I just picked up my 2010 Illusion model pop-up camper today and drove it home (approx. 450km.)
I should mention that I'm not into camping (weird, I know for this forum!)...I've been there, done that for years pulling a vintage Airstream trailer with the kids...and now I have no desire to load and unload a bunch of food and gear and go sit in a campsite where the neighbours kids are running through my site and they sit out with the football game blaring while I'm trying to soak up a bit of nature!...
I'm a musician and am planning on going to a few nearby festivals which only last a couple of days and where I can pop my top and have a place to sleep, so I can jam a bit through the night and not have to drive home... that, and occasionally have a place to crash if I'm at a party that may require some imbibing....and I don't do the driving after that....So...I'm not a "camper" but have very casual-use expectations and hence got such a small rv....That and the fact that I can use it as a utility van and it fits into my garage which has only a 7ft. clearance on the door....(I don't want to store it outdoors for months in the rainy season, which we have a long one here)

The bed size is only 42"X72"...Probably best for only one (or two if your still on your honeymoon and not large people)...I knew this going in and I'll usually be alone and I'm a small size...only 5'8" tall...

A few mixed first impressions...the good:
The van rides very nice with no squeaks or rattles other than a few poorly stowed parts like the table pillar...my fault...Not too bad power considering it's only got a small 3.3L...I'd prefer a 4L though...