Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-11-2017, 09:51 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Disconnecting solar when below freezing for LIFEPO4 batteries

Disclaimer, I'm not a pro, but did some internet research on how to throw this setup together. Use info at your own risk

Charging lithium batteries below freezing temps can cause irreversible damage. With my installation of 400ah of lifepo4 batteries inside the van, I've been looking for an automated way of disconnecting charging when approaching freezing temps. I ended up using an ITC-1000F 12V model with an external relay. Since I couldn't run my solar through the internal relays of the thermostat (didn't want to risk burning them out as they only support up to 10 amps), I'm using it to trigger an external relay. I went with an EV200 for a few reasons. One it's rated for high amps so I don't think I'll risk burning it out or having it stick, and two I got a REALLY good deal on it. I put together a little video showing how I wired it up as when I was starting out as a newbie, I was looking for help on this topic and couldn't find much.

My original setting used heating pads and another thermostat to turn them on, but you usually end up with a net loss as you need a few larger heating pads to warm up the batteries.

nebulight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2017, 10:43 PM   #2
Platinum Member

We assume you also found out that if the batteries see below -4*F they can be permanently damaged, even without being on charge?