Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-22-2020, 05:54 PM   #1
Silver Member

Default Ditching the onboard genny, going battery banks? Back country boondocking rig

2000 Chev RT200p

I am having some issues with our Onan 2800 Micro and rather than sinking big $$ into having it fixed I am thinking of going a new direction.

I am thinking of pulling it and putting a battery bank in there and possibly buying a portable genny for emergencies and charging if necessary.

So far I am thinking of possibly replacing the 12v coach with a 6v and adding a second (up to 3 more 6v, 2 in old genny spot).

If using 4 6v two in series as packs, and two in packs parallel to get them all together.

My wifes concern is being able to run the microwave in the boonies. We like the convenience. We will have propane onboard for the stove top, fridge and furnace.

I am a complete newb and have no idea where to go from here. Just some basic ideas.

If I need to since tons in a genny I think I could get away better going this route and maybe even save a little $$. I dunno.

Guidance from you all would be great!
Theputnams515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 06:14 PM   #2
Platinum Member

- you could get a stand alone generator which can power the microwave when needed and the Air conditioning, but likely not at the same time
if you go this route you wouldn't have much reason to add the battery packs

Carrying the genny and gas cans on a hitch carrier rack

a "1000 watt" microwave usually requires about 14 amps of 120 power ( 1700 watts)
keep in mind that a genny's power output drop at elevation- rating at sea level and drops something like 3% per 1000 ft

mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2020, 06:29 PM   #3
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkguitar View Post