Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-07-2021, 10:06 PM   #1

Default Fresh Water Tank Heater

Will be operating my 2021 Travato 59G in the north during December. I've located my external heaters on the black/gray tanks but the fresh water tank does not have one. Could it be inside the tank. The tank is completely exposed so i'm worried about it freezing. Is this an issue? I'm a Florida resident and not familiar with operating an RV in freezing temperatures.
aaweinstein@gmail.com is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 12:11 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Probably a much bigger concern is any outside plumbing tubing and fixtures. They will freeze before the tank.
Just for fun:'15 Kawasaki Versys650LT
Perfection is a fantasy, though improvement is possible(Wifey).
SteveJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 12:15 AM   #3
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveJ View Post
Probably a much bigger concern is any outside plumbing tubing and fixtures. They will freeze before the tank.
Right. The tank has plenty of expansion room and is likely not brittle. It only takes a few minutes to blow out the pipes and take any removable fixtures indoors.

If you want to keep using the water system in freezing temperatures, that can be done, but is a much bigger project.
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2021, 01:48 AM   #4

Default Is my Travato really 4 season