Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-30-2020, 10:12 PM   #1

Default How to manage power for short down time

Hi folks. I am new to all this as a new owner of a RoadTrek E-trek. Please don't laugh at me - I am learning quickly that I don't know what I don't know. My maiden trip was 14 days across the South. All went well as I learn the joys and challenges of RVing. I am home in FL for a week before I head north for another couple of weeks. I am parked in an open parking lot at my condo with no shore power. Should I shut the batteries down and let her sit? If I keep the batteries on, should the inverter be in the on or off position? I can't find this in any manual. Help appreciated.
Ella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2020, 10:25 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Parked

No need to turn the batteries off but the inverter should be turned off when you are not using it as it will have some parasitic power draw even when not being used. Also no harm in turning off all the batteries if you feel like it but remember anything that you are running like fridge would also be shut down.
Formerly - 2007 Pleasure Way Plateau (06 Sprinter T1N), 1992 VW Eurovan Westfalia Hightop
Long ago - 1969 VW Westfalia & 1973 GMC Motorhome
ks@yvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2020, 10:39 PM   #3
Bud
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by ks@yvr View Post
No need to turn the batteries off but the inverter should be turned off when you are not using it as it will have some parasitic power draw even when not being used. Also no harm in turning off all the batteries if you feel like it but remember anything that you are running like fridge would also be shut down.
The propane detector Will be on. In my B the tv broadcast antenna amplifier was always on, added a switch later.

Bud
Bud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2020, 10:41 PM   #4
Platinum Member