Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-07-2019, 04:57 PM   #1

Default Lithium battery disconnect

I recently purchased a 2016 PW Ascent. This is my first time winterizing. The owners manual instructs to turn and remove a red disconnect key, since the lithium batteries should not be charged if temps are below freezing. The problem is that my van does not have a disconnect key. Apparently, it was the first year PW had the lithium batteries, and did not install the disconnect key (or more likely did not realize they had to in order to protect the batteries). Has this happened to any other Ascent owners out there? My local RV place said they could do it for $400. Does anyone have any DIY experience with installing a disconnect key for these lithium batteries? THANKS!
Ron C. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2019, 05:09 PM   #2
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ron C. View Post
I recently purchased a 2016 PW Ascent. This is my first time winterizing. The owners manual instructs to turn and remove a red disconnect key, since the lithium batteries should not be charged if temps are below freezing. The problem is that my van does not have a disconnect key. Apparently, it was the first year PW had the lithium batteries, and did not install the disconnect key (or more likely did not realize they had to in order to protect the batteries). Has this happened to any other Ascent owners out there? My local RV place said they could do it for $400. Does anyone have any DIY experience with installing a disconnect key for these lithium batteries? THANKS!
If it were me, I would install one of these nice BlueSea remote control battery disconnects:

https://www.amazon.com/Blue-Sea-Syst...87204155&psc=1

Easy self-install. Mount the relay near the battery, plus one short jumper wire. Run a thin wire to a convenient inside location. Done.