Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-21-2020, 12:56 AM   #1

Default Upgrade to lithium

Hello,
I have a 2019 Roadtrek Simplicity...3500 Dodge Promaster body.
My van has the underhood generator, and I have 300 watts of solar panels up top.
Currently I have only 1 100ah AGM battery.
I've had the unfortunate experience of the battery being drained overnight, and if its a cloudy day, then the solar panels are not very effective.
I would really like to be able to install 2 Battle Borne 100 ah batteries inside the van...however if that wouldn't work out, then would it be possible to just remove the existing AGM battery and install 1 Battle Borne 100 ah battery in its place ?
I've read some articles that the underhood generator ( UG ) may need special attention.
I'm not an electrical engineer, so if anyone has solutions or suggestions, please keep it simple.
Thank you,
Larry
Larry1212 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 02:58 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1212 View Post
Hello,
My van has the underhood generator, and I have 300 watts of solar panels up top.
Depends on what your temperature environments are for camping and storage. Define those and you can solve the rest.
hbn7hj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2020, 04:49 AM   #3
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1212 View Post
Hello,
I've had the unfortunate experience of the battery being drained overnight, and if its a cloudy day, then the solar panels are not very effective.
I would really like to be able to install 2 Battle Borne 100 ah batteries inside the van...however if that wouldn't work out, then would it be possible to just remove the existing AGM battery and install 1 Battle Borne 100 ah battery in its place ?
I've read some articles that the underhood generator ( UG ) may need special attention.