Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-18-2013, 01:21 AM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Be one's own wi-fi center?

I just got a smart phone at my son's urging (face time with grandaughter). That's fun, I'm planning a cross country trip next fall. Verizon sent me something that said if I signed up for 2 years (that would make 4 years total!) I could get a device that made me a wi-fi center. I think I got that right.

I don't want 4 years with Verizon. What device are they talking about and can I buy it somewhere without breaking the bank? I want to be able to talk to and email people when I'm in the boonies or when the signal is weak.
soohma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2013, 11:28 AM   #2
Bronze Member

Default Re: Be one's own wi-fi center?

I'm not an expert on this but the 'wifi' they are probably talking about is really just utilizing your cell service data connection.

Smart phones have 5 main connections:

1. voice (talking over the cell network)
2. text (texting over the cell network)
3. cell data (Internet over the cell network)
4. wifi. (internet over an area network, often from a router in a home with service coming from the cable or phone company, or in public at a business. Sometimes wifi is free, sometimes charged at a campsite or included in the fee. It is generally faster than other cell internet connections, and data is often unlimited and much more cost effective than cell data internet. often it is 'free' or a set fee).
5. bluetooth (a tiny network from the phone allowing it to connect to nearby devices without a cord, like speakerphones or in-ear bluetooth headsets)