Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-22-2012, 01:02 AM   #1
Platinum Member

Default iOS 6

I upgraded to iOS 6 on my iPod last night.

It installed a new "Maps" app that, in satellite view, is not as up-to-date as the previous Maps app. The older Maps app showed my house as it is currently with the garage we built early in summer 2011. The new Maps app shows no garage, a Bigfoot Class C Motorhome and a Dodge extended van in the yard. I sold those two vehicles earlier in 2011.
markopolo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2012, 01:49 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: iOS 6

Mine is the opposite. Google Earth shows my property pre-2006. Apple is uptodate. How do I know? I asphalt paved my driveway in 2006 and Apple shows my Great West Van instead of my old Pleasure-way.

Apple is essentially using the TomTom data sets which i have been using for two years to navigate on my iPad and iPhone through the TomTom app that doesn't need a cellular connection. The maps pretty much do the trick but TomTom data was designed more for just street navigation and doesn't show the periphery detail as well as Google.

Google maps is a series of raster images with fixed zoom levels. The Apple data is vector images with infinite zoom levels. In theory the vector images should prove easier and faster to update than raster and should be more accurate. So I look at it as a technological change improvement that should point to a better future. I'm willing to bear with it for a while. You can always use Google maps through the Safari browser if you desire and hopefully an alternative standalone app will be available.