Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-17-2020, 09:23 PM   #1

Default 1993 Great West Classic Supreme???

Hi guys - newbie here. Looking at a 93 GW Classic Supreme Dodge 350, 318cu - 64K miles.

Systems seem to be in working order (brief walk-thru with seller) and test drove great. Listed for $15k from an individual on craigslist.

Does this seem like a good buy for a first timer? Any advice on what all
I should have checked out before attempting a cross-country trip?

Any input would be appreciated.
Melrae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2020, 09:41 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Hi Welcome

before 1st use, spend some time in the driveway running the systems and becoming familiar.. especially if you have a companion on the trip ( toe-tapping)

gather all the manuals

check tires ( dot codes- replace at 6 years regardless of tread), oil and fluid changes

propane available at many truck stops and uhaul stores, learn how to dump the tanks.
youtube is your friend!

mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2020, 09:46 PM   #3

Thanks for the reply - does it seem like a good deal to you price wise? I realize it is pretty old, but def seems to be in good shape for the age.

I know very little about the different Class B brands... just know we can't afford the newer ones I am seeing!
Old 08-17-2020, 10:01 PM   #4
Platinum Member

I cant offer an opinion- covid has driven demand and supply nuts

the dodge 3500 was a popular and robust platform for B's at that time

I don;t think it is a bad deal- having driven it and you judge it drives well- that is a huge plus!

also check the "house" battery which powers all the stuff in the rear when you are parked and not plugged into power

run the genny, start it and after a few minutes when it stabilizes load it by running the rear AC on full- the genny should run smooth without rpms surging