Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-26-2018, 01:18 AM   #1

Default Complete Newbie--big breath & off I go

Just today I purchased a 2017 Travato 59G after months of researching options (towable vs. Class B), models, etc. To me it seems ENORMOUS after a Subaru Forester. I am a mature solo woman who never owned an RV or van before. Survived the 78 mile drive back from the rv dealer to my friends' house where I am staying for awhile (good friends who accompanied me on my test drives, the purchase, and the drive back, made all the difference). Love the feel of driving the van, am more confident now that I'll master it. The roominess and foldup bed are awesome. Will spend this week practicing backing up and parking, etc. in an empty church parking lot, until I feel very comfortable, also pouring over the manuals. Tons to learn! Feel like I'm entering graduate school for campervans. I definitely want to do as much boondocking as I can once I understand it all more. Have loved camping in the past and very much look forward to this new arena. I look forward to meeting new friends. I am sure I'll be posting many questions.
HawksGlide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 01:34 AM   #2
Site Team

How exciting!
Congrats.

The "enormous" feeling will fade rapidly. It will soon feel no different from the Subaru once your nervous system adjusts. There are really only two tricky things: (1) Learning not to cut corners too tightly--you have to learn to keep going straight till the last minute and then turn sharply; and (2) backing up. Use your camera and mirrors and (as you say) practice. It is good to get out once in awhile to get calibrated as how far you really are from obstacles.

Hope you have many great adventures.
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-26-2018, 02:51 AM   #3
Platinum Member

Congratulations!