Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-09-2021, 10:30 PM   #1

Default Hudson Valley NY

Just discovered the forum and wanted to say hello. I've been slowly restoring/maintaining my gf's 1989 Ford E150 Hightop van. She's had it since 1990 and has a little over 100k miles on her. I'm a recently retired auto mechanic so plan on spending more time this spring fixing the little annoying things I didn't have time for in the past. Hopefully do some more traveling in "AV" this summer.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20210810_171355.jpg (282.7 KB, 14 views)
Billxp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2021, 12:22 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Hi Bill

Welcome to the forums

That Ford should be pretty easy to work on

Looks like you have a fridge and a furnace, what else ?

Cheers, Mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2021, 12:58 AM   #3

Thanks for the welcome Mike.

She's pretty sparse. 2 burner stove, small cold water sink, propane heater and a broken 3 way fridge. It did originally have a tv and a/c unit, both were long gone by the time I came into the picture.

The fridge is on the list to be replace this season. I'm planning on replacing it with a 12v system and adding some lithium batteries and solar panels.
Old 12-10-2021, 04:19 AM   #4
Platinum Member

alot of owners replace the old dometic 3 way fridge- mine is still working pretty good- and I don't have the electrical energy available to replace it with a full electric with out a major refit.

I'm in Arizona so definitely don't want panels on the van, we park in the shade when we can

old dometics show up once in a while cheep or freebies here

I replaced my TV with a 22" samsung from costco...I was looking at the displayed TV's and realized many of them used transformer bricks from 120VAC to 14VDC.