Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-17-2016, 05:10 AM   #1

Default New and still just a wannabee

Hi, all! My name's Dave and I'm a schoolteacher from Seattle who's starting to think about a Class B for weekend/summer trips now, and a North American odyssey when I retire in a few years. I'm probably going to be lurking here for a while to learn from all of you, since I have no experience to share at this point - though I did grow up on boats, so I do have some basic understanding of close-quarters living and propane appliances!

My priority is definitely going to be a permanent full-width bed, not a Murphy bed or convertible sofa. I want to be able to keep the bed made up so I can just crawl into it at the end of a long day of driving, hiking, urban exploring, whatever. Also not interested in slide-outs, for reasons of weight, minimizing moving parts, and leaks. I'm a Mercedes fan, and I'm looking forward to learning which coach manufacturers you guys love, and which ones I should steer clear of.

Go Seahawks!
Seattle Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2016, 06:02 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Hi Dave,
we went thru this a while ago and I'll share what i can.

the MB's are awesome and drive great- but not all coaches are created equal...my budget was about $70K- we looked at a MB based 2010 winnebago era.
It drove great, I loved it. the quality of the coach build was shockingly poor- materials and workmanship ( if you could even call it that). also a motor sofa with the added weight complexity lumps and bumps and mechanism eating up the space underneath.

we kicked some tires - the older Rialta and chinooks were contenders we also looked at roadtreks and some other RV types at a couple of dealer lots.

we decided

1.) we NEED a lengthways sleeper- we are both tall