Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-20-2018, 03:41 AM   #1
Platinum Member

Default 2003 Roadtrek 200 P on 2002 Chevy Express chassis. Steering Wander

2003 Roadtrek 200 Pop. on a 2002 Chev Express 3500 chassis 58k miles. Steering wander. This is the RT with the big fiberglass "wide body". No rear doors, only a side door behind the passenger door.

Brand new Michelin defender tires. I have had this RT for a year. I have noticed that there is about 15 degrees of "free play" in the steering wheel. It is most noticeable on the highway and at highway speeds. Especially noticeable when trucks creating "wash" are adjacent to or passing me. But even just traveling straight down the lane, I can move the steering wheel approximately 7-8 degrees off center to either side and there is no response in the steering direction. The wife doesn't care. I can't stand it. If I was a cop I would stop me for "weaving"...

I have troubleshot it the best I can. In fact there appears to be no play in the steering system. I am not sure I am diagnosing it accurately. When I have an assistant turn the steering wheel side to side 7-8 degrees with the engine on, and me underneath, there appears to be play SOMEWHERE because there is freeplay in the wheel. Yet when I manually check Pitman, Idler, control arms, tie rod ends, ball joints there still appears to be no play.

I have heard that the Chevy Express steering boxes are somewhat prone to sloppiness, and that there is a fairly simple adjustment, but that if the adjustment isn't done " just right" it could lead to premature failure of the steering box. A VERY expensive fix.

I brought it to one mechanic who said he went thought the steering system and said it all looked tight.

I brought it to be aligned and it did not need any adjustment. Completely within spec.