Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-18-2020, 10:28 PM   #1

Default 2016 CS Adventurous- no power

No power in coach at all. Control panel for batteries and inverter not coming on. Chassis batteries were drained...so I’ve jump started it and drove around hoping that would charge house batteries. Then noticed that power light on the inverter not illuminated. No RT dealer nearby...so took it to an unauthorized rv repair shop. So far he’s determined that 1 of the 6 volt batteries under the hood is dead. He said he’ll replace that then go to the “next step” of trouble shooting. I’ve owned it about 1 1/2 years. Had it back to the factory in the fall of 2018 shortly before the company shut down. They said the went through the entire unit and it was “up to spec”. In short, I’m still a newbie in this world. Could there be a connection between the chassis batteries being bad and the lack of power in the coach. Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.
southernstar@usa.net is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2020, 10:54 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Welcome to the Forums

in testing electrical systems, known good charged batteries must be used or any measurements will be skewed
so let the shop do that step first and then go through your charging system(s) and check for parasitic drains ( or could even be something left on while parked)

when not in actual use, my coach battery switch is "off" so that there can be no loads on the battery

I keep it charged with use of a battery tender "trickle charger" on a timer which comes on for an hour each night, I usually have this on the vehicle battery as I have parasitic loads ( alarm and such), but swap to coach battery once a week or so

DIRT on a battery casing can allow electrons to travel between the poles and discharge the battery, keep then casings clean