Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-07-2018, 03:03 AM   #1
Silver Member

Default A/C and boondocking

How important is air conditioning in a Class B when boondocking? I'm new to this, researching my first van. I know if it was a car, I would consider it essential; cars can get deathly hot even on a mild day. If it was a house, I wouldn't worry much about it. But an RV? I'm not sure.

It matters because I'm trying to decide what type of batteries I need (AGM vs. lithium) and how many of them. If I don't need A/C, my newbie math says I can cover most of my energy needs with solar, plus some minor engine time, and I could probably get by with AGMs. If I do need A/C, however, I'll have to go lithium (which I'd prefer not to do), and then I have to figure how much of it I need (at about 150A draw). So I'd love to hear from folks whether A/C while boondocking is a necessity, a waste, or somewhere in between...

[The rest of this post is detail of my newbie math, not essential to read unless you're interested. All feedback welcome.]
I'm working through Sportsmobile for a custom rig on a shorty Sprinter platform. They estimate 50Ah/day for the refrigerator. I figure 20Ah/night for the CPAP. They're recommending an Espar system for heat; its electrical consumption is 3A, so figure 12Ah/day. Another 10-15Ah should easily cover miscellaneous stuff: lights, stereo, short usage of microwave, water pump, etc. So 100Ah/day is a reasonable maximum, not counting A/C. Sportsmobile estimates the solar brings in 80Ah on a good day, so not much other charging is needed, and most of that is probably covered if I drive somewhere during the day. And 220AH AGMs seem like they should be sufficient for that, yes?