Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-13-2014, 03:50 PM   #1

Default A quick introduction and a few questions

I am a nurse and have recently decided to become a traveling nurse. I will be traveling alone so instead of taking the housing that the travel agency provides, I have instead decided to provide my own housing and pocket the extra $10/hr (average). I have decided to purchase a cargo van and convert it into a camper and use that as transportation and my home away from home.

My first question is will I have any issues getting an RV site at campgrounds? I plan on just getting a site, for the few months I am at each location, so I have access to electricity, water and hopefully a shower if its a bigger facility. I just want to make sure that they will allow me to stay there even though I will not have a typical camper/RV. Has anyone had any issues with this type of "camping"?

My second question is will it be better off in the long run for me to purchase the cargo van and build into it or pay more money and get one that has already been outfitted? Money is a huge concern right now and I really dont think I will have enough money to purchase a roadtrek or similar anyway. I really only need a bed and a small countertop to put my stove and some storage so I really dont need anything too fancy.

I know that these vans are out there and I have seen quite a few online but I havent been able to find a forum dedicated to them, so I figured someone here would be able to point me in the right direction.

Thanks for the help in advance.

Photocodo
photocodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2014, 11:56 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: A quick introduction and a few questions

Do you have budget or dollar figure in mind for the van?
Old 01-14-2014, 01:38 PM   #3
Platinum Member

Quote: