Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-08-2015, 10:09 PM   #1

Default Advice on buying a used B in a different state

I am looking to purchase a new to me Class B, but the odds are that it will be rather far away. How does one go about checking on its condition (both mechanical and house systems) and how does the transaction process work?

Here is my scenario: I find an RV I like on CraigsList from a private seller, only its 1500 miles away. So I contact the seller. Then what? Negotiate a price, and then have a PPI (Pre-Purchase Inspection)? PPI first then negotiate price? Price is subject to PPI? I assume I pay for the PPI. What about shipping it to my location? Has anyone done that before? Finally the money? Is it held in escrow? Do they get it when the B is on the trailer?

I hope people understand this is a big purchase for me, and i've never done this before. Thanks for any help and guidance.

P.S. If there is a guide/FAQ that address this that I haven't found, please point me in the right direction and delete this thread
lupulin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 10:21 PM   #2
Platinum Member

if you are serious- fly and see it.

the price of a flight would be worthwhile

especially if it saves you from buying a turd

if it meets expectations then you drive it home.

maybe you could hire an RV dealer to inspect it for you if you can't travel

where is it?
mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2015, 12:53 AM   #3

Hi Lupulin,

I have the same concerns. To compound the issue we are looking for a very specific vehicle (10 yrs old), and we live in California with particular requirements for registration (passing the Calif. smog test). We are both working full-time now ....we may need to wait until we retire next year. We just can't take off at the drop of a hat to fly/inspect/drive home.

Counting the days until retirement!