Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

View Poll Results: What type of device do you use for cooking in the van and what kind of fuel does it u
A built in stove top that uses gas or propane 32 76.19%
A protable stove that uses gas or propane 9 21.43%
A built in stove top that uses electricity 5 11.90%
A portable stove that uses fuel other than gas or propane 5 11.90%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 42. You may not vote on this poll

Old 01-09-2020, 12:13 AM   #1

Exclamation Camper Van Cooking

Hi everyone,
I'm new here and was hoping to learn more information about how people go about cooking in their vans. My name is Ryan Koester and I'm a college student going through Cal Poly. I'm working on a project to make compatible portable stove top for those cooking outside a house! I'd really like to learn more information about how cooking devices are currently used and stored as well as any features you particularly like or dislike about your current cooking set up such as having compartments for storage or the type fuel source used. Any information would be extremely appreciated.
Thank you for your time.
RyanK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 01:40 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Built in Origo marine alcohol / 120V stove and Optimus Hiker stove to cook outside.
GeorgeRa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2020, 03:16 AM   #3
Platinum Member

Interesting project. I would guess the majority of RV owners on this forum have a built-in cooktop permanently connected to a house system. The majority of those systems are probably propane gas. So the main cooktop for most of us is not technically portable. As GeorgeRa's post suggests, many of us also have some means of cooking outside the camper similar to someone camping in a tent might have. Could be a camp stove or a small grill.

Others can chime in about their use of alternatives, such as induction cooktops, etc.