Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-09-2017, 07:49 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Cooking in your RV? Yes or No

Hey all, I am new to RVing and will be taking my first weekend trip this weekend to go snow boarding in New Mexico.

I have heard mixed reviews about cooking in your RV. Many saw the smell lingers bad and you won't be able to sleep. Even cooking popcorn in the microwave can be too much.

Any ideas, tips, or tricks here?

Thanks,
Mark
saenzm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 08:26 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by saenzm View Post
Hey all, I am new to RVing and will be taking my first weekend trip this weekend to go snow boarding in New Mexico.

I have heard mixed reviews about cooking in your RV. Many saw the smell lingers bad and you won't be able to sleep. Even cooking popcorn in the microwave can be too much.

Thanks,
Mark
For us, microwave inside, yes, cooktop never, lots of cooking outside for everything else.

If you are going to the cold, be sure you are well winterized, which can also put some cooking difficulties in front of you to deal with.
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 09:01 PM   #3
Site Team

A powered roof vent (even if it is not over the stove) combined with strategically-chosen windows cracked open can serve as an extremely effective range vent. Just do it WHILE you are cooking, not just after. We are not big in-van cookers, but we never hesitate to do so when we feel like it.
avanti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2017, 09:07 PM   #4
Platinum Member