Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

View Poll Results: Your opinion on the better roadtrek?
1996 roadtrek 1 50.00%
2006 roadtrek 1 50.00%
Voters: 2. You may not vote on this poll

Old 01-20-2022, 03:34 PM   #1

Red face Decisions decisions

Hi there, I’m completely new to the rv forum world but a friend mentioned it would be the best place to get objective advice and ideas. I’ve lived with a friend in a camper van for the past 4 years and feel it’s time to go on my own with my cat. The problem being that I am still somewhat new to the whole rv world in general. I am completely stuck between 2 class B rvs. One being a 1996 dodge roadtrek versatile with 88,000 miles for $20k with only an outside generator and the other being a 2006 roadtrek popular with 156,000 miles for $28k with no refrigerator. My first instinct would be to go for the older, lower immediate cost as I’m 25 and currently only working minimum wage. However my apprehension comes to the cost of any breakdowns or issues I might face along the way with an older vehicle, in addition to having to purchase a generator or fridge. I know there tend to be minor fixes typically for any rv, but my concern is more on the bigger fixes I would have to go to a shop for and spends hundreds, possibly up to thousands to fix. Not to mention the current uptick in RV popularity makes it a bit hard to find a vehicle within a price range I can afford myself. Any advice or insight would be appreciated!
Chothulu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-20-2022, 05:21 PM   #2
Platinum Member