Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-01-2021, 09:26 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default G05 coolant on sale

If anyone use G05 coolant in anything and changes their own, very good price at NAPA on the concentrate (mix your own) style. This is what we use in our two GM vehicles since they were converted from Dexcool years ago. It has worked well, and the insides of the cooling passages in the 96 Buick 5.7 cast iron engine looked spotless when I just had it all apart, which is quite good for 140K miles and 25 years old. The 07 Roadtrek is do for a change this year, also so I got 4 gallons which should last a while.

NAPA has it for $12.99 per gallon, which I ran across as a mainly unadvertised special. Most places have it for $20-23 per gallon around here. Zerex brand.
booster is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2021, 09:34 PM   #2
Platinum Member

I have no experience with G05, but I haven't heard any recent problems with Dexcool. I just had my coolant changed at the Chevy dealer along with transmission fluid and brake flush. This was part of a planned 5yr./50K miles service.

Did I miss something about Dexcool not holding up?

EDIT: I found this chart. Seems like all coolants are just variations off a basic OAT formula with some sillicate, phosphate, and color changes. But still different enough to avoid mixing.

https://www.valvoline.com/our-produc...engine-coolant
rowiebowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2021, 10:09 PM   #3
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowiebowie View Post
I have no experience with G05, but I haven't heard any recent problems with Dexcool. I just had my coolant changed at the Chevy dealer along with transmission fluid and brake flush. This was part of a planned 5yr./50K miles service.

Did I miss something about Dexcool not holding up?