Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-04-2013, 11:48 AM   #1

Default Hello everyone

Hi, I'm a newbie here. I am a retired rn, specialized in critical care & infection control. My dream is to find a class b rv with a washer dryer. I want to circumnavigate the USA, over 2 or 3 years.
I consider an on board washer dryer as important as potable water.
I would also like to have a bathtub, these old bones get creaky & jones for some Epsom salts.
My friends & family completely discourage this idea. They are entitled to their opinion.
They say a motorhome with 50,000 miles on it will be a constant drain on me with repairs. I feel if you have a good mechanic check it out, it's the same as buying a used car.
Does anyone think it is possible for me to acquire a class b, take out a seat, install w/d for under 40,000?
I also want to go solar/inverter as much as possible.
I used to live on a boat & would really like to avoid the generator as much as possible.
Is there any way to run a/c w/o a generator?
I know, I'm just full of questions, but have been looking into this for many months & plan to purchase next spring.
I look forward to participating in this forum, & hope you don't mind. I am learfning as fast as I can, & hope to help others in the future. Best regards.
thymetraveler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 12:12 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: Hello everyone

Welcome to the forum thymetraveler.

The combined washer/dryer units are fairly compact: http://www.pplmotorhomes.com/parts/rv-p ... -dryer.htm I had a 30' Class C that had a decent quality tub large enough to sit in. A tub would take up a lot of space in a Class B.

You should be able to find a nice Class B in the $25,000 to $35,000 range and that would leave some money in the budget for repairs and upgrades. It won't be new though, maybe up to 10 years old.