Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-16-2020, 04:45 PM   #1
Silver Member

Default How Important is Gas Mileage?

Newbie here. I have been looking for used rigs. I really like the floor plan of the Chinook, and they have a reputation for being well-built, but I think they only get like 9-10 mpg at best? I would be happier with 15-18 mpg. I have seen people here say gas cost pales in comparison to maintenance, repair and other costs and should not be a huge consideration. Wondering what people think?
Vee and Zeekie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 05:00 PM   #2
Platinum Member

The difference is about $800 for a 5000 mile trip at 9mpg instead of 18mpg at $3 gallon.

Your decision on how much is too much or no worry when comparing to maintenance which can be highly variable.
booster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2020, 05:13 PM   #3
Platinum Member

I care somewhat, and for two reasons besides money. One, better mileage equals better range. Better range means greater flexibility in planning fuel stops. Two, better mileage means less carbon emissions. That's controversial, of course, and one could argue that if I really cared I'd tent camp in a Prius. Not going there, but in a case of other things equal...

It would not be my highest consideration, but I don't consider it irrelevant, either.

As an indication of how far technology has come, my 2014 Chevy Roadtrek on the Express 3500 van with the large 6.0L V8 and newer 6-speed HD transmission yields 17-18 mpg cruising at 65-70 mph (fully loaded, empty tanks, four on board). The 31 gal. tank gives it a working range of 450 miles. Diesels can do better still, but at an even higher cost.

That said, the Chinooks are very attractive and unique. They are really compact C's on an F450 or equivalent cutaway chassis, so it's really not fair to compare the fuel economy to a B-van.