Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-22-2020, 06:27 PM   #41

Cool

I'm a class-B-ish newbie and I don't think I'll grow weary of it...but I respect that getting away from it all is difficult right now...and that may color my future decisions on keeping or selling.
I grew up with a 70's VW "bus" and have been enamored of that ever since. I also grew up with a yearly, weeks long trip, via pop-up camper, when the VW wasn't practical for our family of 2 adults and 3 kids, anymore.
Adulting, my husband and I camped everywhere, and then got our daughter into it. I love tenting...but my back does not.
Then, I tried the pop-up life; and for a weekend every summer and the one 2-week-vacation we used it for, it was great. However, without electricity, we're just camping in a slightly more comfortable bed. The pop-up turned out not to be worth the trouble of the hook-up, backing, maintenance, that we went through for very little use. (I sold that camper last last spring and broke-even after 5 years. Great experiment.)
Fast forward to now to COVID and I've lost my mind, being stuck at home. I'm such a newbie that I bought a Ford E-250 airport shuttle, and "converted" it. I am THRILLED! It's down and dirty but, although it's not everything I dreamed of yet, it's well on it's way, just by having a real-ish bed and potty, on wheels.
The pop-up was my midlife crisis. The van is my continued midlife crisis mixed in with a loss in my faith in humanity. It's the only place I can leave real life behind.