Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-16-2017, 02:51 AM   #1

Default How to Quiet a Winnebago ERA

Hi all:

I posted in the newbie forum...because I am a total newbie. It was suggested by someone there to post my questions to the 'big kids'. I have just bought a 2014 Mercedes ERA. I packed a few clothes and put some beverages in the fridge for my first trip. No dishes, not much to move around.

The noise in the van was so loud that I kidded with my passenger that we would have to get motorcycle helmets with speakers so we could talk to each other. Funny and not funny at the same time.

Most people tell me that it is not supposed to be that noisy and I dread another trip. All ideas are very welcome.

Discouraged in Maine
ramblek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2017, 03:45 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Ramblek, Your Winnie ERA has a 2 burner propane stove with a cover, right? On the 2 campervans I've had with that sort of stove, the cover is the source of a significant rattle. A folded kitchen towel provides easy cushion. Bottles and cans in the fridge will rattle and may benefit from padding. When driving over bumpy roads, other mechanical parts of your van will rattle. Probably good to explore where you can tighten screws, etc. A campervan won't be as quiet a ride as a passenger car, but yours seems louder than most. Happy and Quieter Trails.
Old 08-16-2017, 03:48 AM   #3
BBQ
Platinum Member

Where do you think the noise came from?

Road noise transmitted from outside?

cabinet doors banging against the frames?

cabinets squeaking? Shaking and rubbing against the chassis?

metal racks rattling?

How do the noise sound like?

Like sitting inside a drum? or tin can?

High pitch sound?

Low frequency rumbles?

Like ten thousand wooden spoons hitting the counter?

Old 08-16-2017, 01:08 PM   #4
Bronze Member