Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-07-2015, 02:50 AM   #1

Default Howdy

I recently retired from my 3rd career and now I have time to do fun stuff. The wife and I are considering our first RV and I've done a lot of research and decided a class B is what we need. My wife is tiny and hates huge vehicles but I think she'd be able to drive a class B at least on the interstate. I've been searching RV Trader and found 2 different Chinook Councourse XL types that look like they'd work for us. One factor that makes this seem like a good choice is they are built on a Ford E350 and my brother has been a Ford mechanic for over 25 years (works at the local dealer). Any thoughts y'all can provide is very welcome as I am a real noob with this RV stuff.

About me/us: retired from the USAF in 92, and civil service in Jan 15. Married 38 years, 3 grown kids, live in the midlands of South Carolina...
NGIB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 03:23 AM   #2
Silver Member

Default Re: Howdy

Chinook made quality RV's but be aware they are built on a truck chassis (cut-a-way) so they are a Class C. Sellers like to advertise them as Class B's to promote sales.
Caped Crusader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2015, 03:32 AM   #3
Platinum Member

Welcome NGIB and congrats on your third retirement. I retired 3 times: RCAF, Diplomat, Private contracter.
Buying a B class rv is a decision one bases on the following: I note the Chinook is a C Class but should you get a B class the following applies and actually much of it applies to the smaller C class too as I had a gaucho in my first C and I hated it especially at night and I didn't like the corner bed either in the 2nd C class, Here goes...

a) Your budget ie new or used
b) Your type of rving ie long haul trips or short trips of say a few days to a week or two