Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-31-2021, 03:23 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Induction Cooktop

Hi

I have been putting off getting a grill for our 2012 Roadtrek and now under the gun to acquire one soon.
I am thinking about an induction cooktop now since I can’t find an appropriate propane unit (Magmas are sold out). Most grills seem to need conversion/regulator removal in order to work off the main propane tank.
Can I run an induction cooktop without shore power with our rigs 190 ah battery bank and 750 W inverter setup? The induction cooktops i’ve seen are usually 1800 W.

Thank you
MagicBox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2021, 04:33 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MagicBox View Post
Hi

I have been putting off getting a grill for our 2012 Roadtrek and now under the gun to acquire one soon.
I am thinking about an induction cooktop now since I can’t find an appropriate propane unit (Magmas are sold out). Most grills seem to need conversion/regulator removal in order to work off the main propane tank.
Can I run an induction cooktop without shore power with our rigs 190 ah battery bank and 750 W inverter setup? The induction cooktops i’ve seen are usually 1800 W.

Thank you
The answer is no. Why? Because your set up is identical to my original and I could not run my 750W microwave (actually around 1200W draw). Neither your current batteries or Inverter can produce the required power.

Even with my current upgrade to 200Ah lithium batteries and 3000W Inverter/Charger (which can now run our microwave), I'd be at or near the max discharge rate of 1C for my two lithium batteries to run an 1800W induction cooktop on full power. This is because in addition to what the cooktop draws, the inverter and other inefficiencies will consume some additional power.