Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-16-2020, 06:39 PM   #1
Silver Member

Default Is it safe for a single woman to camp in a nice Class B alone?

I am a newbie, newly retired and looking to buy a Class B for both camping (mostly at National Forests and private campgrounds) and for road trips. I am single, petite, in my early 60s. I do have a medium sized dog but he is not young. I am wondering if I would be a target for theft or break-in, especially if my rig was "nice." My preference is to buy something used but it needs to be mechanically sound since I am not a DIY-er when it comes to fixing things. So that probably means a newer vehicle. How common is theft or break in with these nice Class B RVs? (I highly doubt I will boondock alone. Just don't feel comfortable).
Vee and Zeekie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2020, 06:43 PM   #2
Platinum Member

if you are not comfortable pulling into an area, you won;t get the rest you want.

you may want to self restrict to KOAs and other family type campgrounds- campgrounds with "hosts"

sometimes the "more rigid" and unpleasant the campground hosts seem to be...the more orderly the campground is

stay away from those which cater to permanent residents ( piles of junk under blue tarps is an quick indicator)

most of us park with windows covered for heat and privacy
we've never experienced anything unpleasant

Mike

koas are the "mcdonalds" of campgrounds, you can be assured of a certain minimum std of cleanliness and facilities, laundry
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2020, 08:10 PM   #3
Platinum Member

If you're 62+ get the Senior Pass which will get you into National Forest, National Park and Army Corps of Engineer campgrounds at half price.

A lot of these have hosts and those are the ones we stay at. If you are concerned try to pick a site near the host.