Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-15-2021, 01:09 AM   #1

Default New to RVs, and looking at a Road Trek Versatile 190 tomorrow need help!

Hello all,

As stated in my title, I’m COMPLETELY new to the RV game, but my wife and I have been looking and we seem to have found a good deal on a 1999 Road Trek 190 Versatile. Some questions: where do you guys go to fill the LP tank? Will electrical power the refrigerator? Will the AC run all night if the engine isn’t running? Are there electrical hookups on the van like you would find on a travel trailer so that I could plug in at parks? Any thoughts on the Dodge 5.2L V8? Anything specific I should look more into when viewing the vehicle tomorrow?

Thanks!

Lance
LPChristilaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2021, 02:08 AM   #2
Platinum Member

1. Fill LP at some campgrounds, travel center gas stations, and various other places like hardware stores, Tractor Supply, U-Haul... Should be easy to find almost anywhere using your smartphone.

2. Traditional RV fridges can be 2-way (propane and 110VAC) or 3-way. (adds 12VDC). DC operation will deplete your battery quickly if used very long without means of recharging (solar or engine alternator). I use DC when driving, LP when camping without hookups, and AC when plugged into campground power.

3. Air conditioning requires shore power or a good-sized generator. When that’s not available, a power roof vent provides surprisingly good cooling airflow at night from battery power alone in all but the most extreme heat and humidity.

4. Roadtreks, like most mass market Class B vans, have normal RV connections for water, power, and sewer. Some have a combined black/grey tank that uses a macerator and a small diameter drain hose rather than the conventional gravity dump via a 4” sewer hose.

5. No experience with older Dodge vans, so I’ll leave the last two questions for others.