RV News RVBusiness 2021 Top 10 RVs of the Year, plus 56 additional debuts and must-see units → ×
 
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-12-2020, 09:05 PM   #21
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Texas
Posts: 5
Default

Not sure about the antenna. My unit has a crank up antenna, but I've never been able to pick up anything with it. Between wifi and hotspot, I've been able to watch most anything I want. And the DVD player of course.
__________________

kojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 09:37 PM   #22
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 26
Default

Currently it is plugged into a 12V socket....and there are so many wires and cables behind it, I have no idea what else they do. Obviously, I'd like to just plug it into the current plug for now and then look at other options down the road. Thanks
__________________

terance13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 09:38 PM   #23
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 26
Default

And what TV do you have and how is it powered?
terance13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2020, 10:55 PM   #24
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: PHX, AZ
Posts: 1,586
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kojo View Post
Not sure about the antenna. My unit has a crank up antenna, but I've never been able to pick up anything with it.

do you have an antenna amplifier which needs to be turned on?


Many rvs need amp turned on when not on campground cable


from my driveway I pick up the tucson stations - the transmitting antennas are 108 miles away
mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2020, 07:06 AM   #25
Bronze Member
 
roadbiker1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Location: Oregon
Posts: 20
Default

my 2008 Pop has a RF select switch to choose either the Winegard external antenna OR a stub of coax to connect to local cable. My switch is up in a L side top cabinet near the Winegard antenna amp. If the ant amp shows power ( little LED ) and the TV still has nothing, maybe flip the RF select to the other position. Cheers.
roadbiker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2020, 12:07 PM   #26
Bronze Member
 
Wandering Wes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Forest Hill, Maryland
Posts: 23
Default

If your TV is over 10 years old you need a ďDigital AdapterĒ to be able to get a signal.
Buy one for about $25.00 at Walmart. It has a remote and the ability to record.

Wandering Wes
2010 Pleasure-way Excel TS
Never a problem, Sometimes a challenge, Always an adventure.
Wandering Wes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2020, 07:51 PM   #27
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 26
Default

I'll look for it...how do I post a photo/video to a post or reply? I'll take a photo of what I have and post it. Thanks
terance13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2020, 01:00 AM   #28
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,353
Default

I feel a little silly.

I never watch TV.

But I do edit go pro Motorcycle Videos & watch rugby & rugby league - I have a 48 inch Samsung Smart TV in my Roadtrek Versatile...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20200813_165452_resized.jpg (218.6 KB, 7 views)
File Type: jpg 20200813_165325_resized.jpg (156.3 KB, 6 views)
__________________
05 Roadtrek Versatile 190/Super Modified & Lifted with Custom Battery Box, Two 225ah Lifeline 6 Volt AGMs in Series, 250 watts Solar, Victron BMV712 Meter & Victron MTTP 100V/30A Solar Controller, Magnum MMS1012 Inverter Charger, Onan Generator, Novakool R3800 Fridge & so very much more ...
themexicandoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 08:46 PM   #29
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 26
Default

Thanks everyone for your advice. I'm going to keep the TV we have and buy a Firestick...my wife says she knows how to set her iPhone to be hot spot and we will go from there!
terance13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2020, 10:24 PM   #30
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Texas
Posts: 5
Default

The Firestick / iPhone works great for me. Just remember, the Firestick works on an HDMI jack. If your TV doesn't have one, you will need to buy an HDMI to RCA adapter. They are fairly cheap and you can get one on Amazon.
kojo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2020, 02:56 AM   #31
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2020
Location: Maryland
Posts: 26
Default

It does have a HDMI port...thanks!
__________________

terance13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×