Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-26-2009, 04:56 PM   #1

Default Newbie questions

Hi I'm glad I found this forum...I'm in the process of looking for a used van rv...My dream is to take my two dd and travel the USA. BTW In my dream we're driving a Roadtrek...but in my reality our budget puts us in a 1990 conversion type van...just had a 1990 Horzin sold from out under us...as we were making the 3 hr drive to see it ...now have my sights on a 1990 Falcon. My biggest cryteria is that it's small ( easy to drive/ park anywhere) and secondly that it a safe place for the girls and I to sleep.....everything else is an added bonus. I have no RV experience so my first question would be for some newbies reading suggestion...like is there a RV'ing for Dummies?! LOL. And then if anyone has experience with the Ford Falcon can they share thier experience with this model and I'm courius to find something like a Kelly blue book version for RVs cause I'm not sure if the prices I've seen (anywhere from $3000 to $9000 ) reflect what this year and make are truely worth.

Thanks in advance!

Elisabeth
strawlis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2009, 12:58 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: Newbie questions

Can't say I've ever seen the RV For Dummies Book - probably would have bought it then!!!
Don't let your dream turn into a nightmare and get a lemon, either in the engine compartment or the RV end of the deal. When you find something that strikes you as a "keeper" check out an RV place and take it to them for a once over. I say this because to have something fixed and the associated cost would be a big let down just starting out.
The folks on the forum will be more than glad to answer questions and direct you to the right places for info. There is a wealth of info here and they are always willing to share their knowledge and give solid recommendations.