Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-21-2010, 07:12 PM   #1

Default Newbie with questions

Hi all,

I'm considering buying a new Airstream/Mercedes Interstate Class B. I'm pretty new to the class B concept, and I'd like some real users feedback, as it is really hard to imagine the experience without actually having the experience.

I have rented 40ft plus Class A RVs in the past couple of years, for my wife, and our 3 small Shitzus, to go up and down the beautiful California coast. We love the large rigs, but, there are some obvious physical limitations. There is a place in LA that rents Class B RVs, but, I fear that although it would be a relatively new one, the used, abused, circkety Class B they would rent me, would give me the wrong impression, compared to a new Class B Airstream.

I am well travelled, and, besides travelling 150-200,000 miles a year throughout Europe and Asia, for my business, which is also part of my lifestyle (part business, part holiday), one of our pups have an illness, which probably at least for the next couple of years, limits our desire to vacation in exotic places we normally go, like in Micronesia, Thailand, Japan, Caribbean, France, Italy, etc... So, I thought to buy the Airstream, as it seems to be the best one can buy in this class, and, I like the concept of being able to drive in more "car friendly" places than the 40 footer Class A allows. As we also have residences in Miami and Manhattan, in addition to Los Angeles, I like the concept of traveling cross country to the other places.