Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-26-2019, 12:51 PM   #1
Bronze Member

Default Power outlets only work with shore power

Hi all, I am very new to the RV life, having picked up my first class B (or RV of any type for that matter) recently.
I bought a 98 Roadtrek 170 that has some issues I was aware of beforehand and am beginning to work through them so expect to see me on here often throwing up various SOS's.

Anyway, the first issue I'm trying to resolve is that the power outlets only work when shore power is connected. I've checked the trip switches on all the GFCI outlets. All electricity works fine when plugged in but dead when running off of the aux battery.

Same goes for the two front lights (over captains chairs) although the rest of the lights work fine off of the aux battery

I'm suspecting a fuse/breaker on the 12v circuit that feeds the outlets and those two front lights but I'm just working off of the general Roadtrek manual and don't have any detail on how all is wired.

Any suggestions before I dig in would be greatly appreciated

Thanks!
Kinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2019, 02:00 PM   #2
Bronze Member

110VAC outlets are typically powered only when connected to shore power, or when the generator is running. It could be that some outlets are connected to a power inverter that creates 11VAC out of the 12VDC from the battery, but that is usually not the case.
So, very likely that this is expected behavior.