Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-27-2020, 05:20 PM   #1
Bronze Member

Default 1998 Roadtrek 170 propane tank full but nothing coming out

Hi all. I'm pretty new to all of this and am stumped on getting propane to my burners and other LP appliances.

I had turned on the propane valve from the tank and the burners were working fine. I made sure the burners were off and closed and locked up the van but forgot to close the valve on the tank.

I went back yesterday to test a few more things, starting with the burners again but this time no gas was coming out. I then noticed that I had left the tank valve open so I flipped off the switch by the gas fill, shut the tank valve, flipped the switch back on and very slowly re-opened the tank valve. Still nothing so I went and had the propane topped off, still nothing.

I've attached pics of the main tank valve and on/off switch. The two things I'm not familiar with are the small release valve next to the gas fill and the small knob next to the main valve on the tank itself.

Any assistance would be much appreciated.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0574.jpg (175.8 KB, 52 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0576.jpg (173.1 KB, 50 views)
Kinch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 05:26 PM   #2
Platinum Member

My tank doesn't have a switch by the fill. Others: What does that do?

But I don't see why, when it was working fine, how failure to turn off the propane valve would result in the lack of propane at the stove burners. After all one could do the same thing while camping and, say, off for an overnight hike somewhere. It doesn't make sense to me. But again, I don't have your exact system.
GallenH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2020, 05:29 PM   #3
Bronze Member