Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-27-2022, 03:57 AM   #1
Gold Member

Default Roadtrek 210 Pull Out Table

Well, it certainly was cold in Texas over Christmas. Our Roadtrek 210 was parked in the driveway, and when I entered to check it one morning I found the
pull out table covering was cracked. Apparently it got too cold and shrunk. Does anyone know what this covering is? It appears to be a shrink wrap like material. Any suggestions on recovering? As a woodworker I'm contemplating removal of the covering, and depending on what kind wood is below, just sanding and applying a few coats of Minwax Polycrylics. Thanks in advance for your suggestions.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Roadtrek 210 Popular Pull Out Table.JPG (50.9 KB, 27 views)
bwatters60 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2022, 02:41 PM   #2
Platinum Member

I went out and inspected the pullout table on our 2007 RT 210P and ours remains flawless, probably because it has always been stored inside a HVAC controlled environment.

I had never really looked at it closely before and a casual observer would notice no difference in the surface of it and the kitchen countertop. On closer inspection I could see how it was constructed as you described but after lasting all these years, I am surprised it cracked as shown in your photo.

It looks like the edging on yours remains just fine. You probably are on the right track of just refinishing the top. I have added a few shelves and a custom built armoire for our 210 over the years. I built them out of birch plywood and mixed a stain to match the factory finished cabinets. It would take a woodworker's eye (someone like you) to notice differences.

Sorry it happened and I still don't understand why it would. I have been active on these B forums for twenty years and I don't recall ever hearing about this from anyone else.