Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-28-2020, 02:04 AM   #1

Default Sabbatical Travel

Hello all. Newbie here.

My wife and I are seriously considering a 3-6 month road trip as our son's school is contemplating moving to online learning until Jan or maybe the rest of the year. I already work remote and my wife only works 2 days/week. It is important we have enough room to work when not driving but we're at a crossroads on what type of RV to research. It would be my wife, 15-year old son and our 12lb dog in addition to me.

If you're already doing this, I'd love to hear your advice.
Thanks,
Bryan
Christiansailing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 03:32 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Welcome to the forum!

I'm gonna cast my vote for a class C if I was in your situation. Probably double the living space for less money. Not as convenient to drive or park, but plenty of people do it. And you're not going for stealth camping anyway.
rowiebowie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 12:40 PM   #3
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowiebowie View Post
Welcome to the forum!

And you're not going for stealth camping anyway.
If you are going to work remotely and have a kid conducting online education you definitely are not going to do much "stealth" camping in off-grid locations. We have sought out camping deliberately since March away from people to stay isolated as much as possible from the hidden enemy and that has led us more non-cellular areas and definitely no WiFi access. That is something to think about in your planning and it doesn't affect what kind of RV you desire but it tilts the scale in priorities and advantages.
2011 Great West Van Legend Sprinter
2005 Pleasure-way Plateau TS Sprinter
Davydd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2020, 03:41 PM   #4
Platinum Member

ditto- camping and connectivity barely overlap on venn diagram