Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-22-2016, 01:33 PM   #1
Bronze Member

Default Safety !!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hi all, I have a question about safety like at night when we are sleeping in our camper i feel a little scare that someone might break in or something , so it is hard to fall asleep its like i have to keep one eye open even if we are in a campground . I was thinking Maybe its because i am new at this . I just don't feel safe like i do in a house. I was thinking is it legal to have a shotgun in your camper for protection? What do your think?
Thanks, John
machado11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 01:46 PM   #2
Platinum Member

turn off the TV news.

when you turn in- lock the doors
you can use exterior lighting.

if you don;t feel safe, leave the area.
don;t stay in place and take up weapons.

if you really really cant get over this aprehension, use a hotel when traveling.

I'd be more worried about a campground neighbor armed and nervous than the "escaped convict" or other boogieman

legalities aside, take something the same size and weight of a shotgun and try to manouver inside a campervan.

maybe because I'm Canadian, but I want to be able to be welcoming and open- esp in a camping situation where we can benefit by sharing experiences with people we may not normally meet.
recent study and my own observations show that minority races are more and more getting out and making use of outdoor recreation.
if you explore the Country( ies) and know it, you will feel more a part.

it bothers me that in my own neighborhood ( PHX), it is not safe for me to knock on a door should a neighbor leave the lights on in their car...

mike
mkguitar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2016, 01:57 PM   #3
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by mkguitar View Post
turn off the TV news.

when you turn in- lock the doors

if you don;t feel safe, leave the area.