Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-09-2019, 10:38 PM   #241
Platinum Member

Location: East of world famous Sedro Woolley, west of Concrete

Quote:
Originally Posted by rowiebowie View Post
Good thing you're here to parse (to examine in a minute way : analyze critically) others' responses. My point is that I just never found reading that type of writing style enjoyable. Perhaps fitting for a technical journal where such preciseness is critical.

I stand corrected on my "no guns for you" comment. Glad to hear it, in fact.
Yeah, I'm an engineer. I tend to think like that. It overflows into my daily life and decision making process.

Sometimes that pisses off folks less interested in analyzing stuff critically before forming and expressing an opinion.

Since I can't predict what reading style(s) others "enjoy", I'll just continue to write in the style that suits me.

If a poster I'm responding to starts implying that arriving at a different conclusion than that poster, based on using an analytic approach to cited statistics, linked with a different set of life/boondocking experiences, is "simply unconscionable", I'm going to view that as an invitation for further discussion. I see that as changing from a discussion of the topic at hand...security while boondocking...to a discussion about morality.

My opinion about guns and boondocking is "meh". I think that given the generally poor level of owner training, they're likely to cause more harm than good as a boondocking self defense tool.
Given the lack of data on this specific combination, if someone feels otherwise, I won't argue with them.
Now, with trip reports!!!!
skagitstan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2019, 05:32 PM   #242
Silver Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by skagitstan View Post
Yeah, I'm an engineer. I tend to think like that. It overflows into my daily life and decision making process.