Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-11-2016, 10:30 AM   #1
Gold Member

Default Should Newbies Steer Clear of Ever Buying an RV

I've been a member of this forum for awhile now, learning a lot about class B's and gradually narrowing down the field of choices for what will become my wife's and my first RV. We were excited about moving forward and entering this new lifestyle sometime in 2017.

But I've also read the important six part series in the RV Daily Report about the so-called death spiral of the North American RV industry. Frankly, I've also read, on this forum and on Facebook, what are by now countless stories of owners of Class B's who were unable to enjoy their rigs because of endless breakdowns and defects. The , counseling us NOT to ever buy an RV, had initially struck me as hyperbole -- I'm an attorney myself and understand that it's easy to see just one side of any story. But I'm being worn down. I'm starting to really have doubts about our plan to see the continent in a Class B.