Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-25-2020, 11:57 PM   #1

Default Strategy for general purpose ("fresh" but not potable water)?

Thanks for all the great replies to my thread about potable water:

https://www.classbforum.com/forums/f...egy-10763.html

I'd like to now ask about "general purpose" water. This is "fresh" water for showering, washing hands, washing your face, etc. but NOT for drinking or cooking.

From the other thread, some people drink/cook with water from their freshwater tanks. Myself, I'm going to buy my potable water because I may have to fill my freshwater tanks from a source I don't trust. (e.g. a spigot at a gas station).

I'm considering adding a larger freshwater tank so that I can boondock for longer periods. I'm a noob at boondocking (which is why I'm here on this forum) and so I don't know what I don't know.

For example, I could add tankage that could take me up to as high as 45 to 50 US Gal of freshwater. I estimate this will last me 15 days of showering and washing.

Questions:

1) what is your strategy for freshwater? i.e. for how many days do you carry water? How many gallons is that? Please slant your answer for boondocking situations (as opposed to campground situations where you have access to fresh water)

2) where do you get your water from when on the road? (assume that I'm not frequenting campgrounds and not in urban areas; e.g. I'm out and about in forests and other public land)

3) is there a point where it's not advisable to use water that's been stored too long? And how long would that be? e.g. the water somehow got "infected" (not sure what the right term is; I've heard of pathogens and slime forming in the tanks).

I plan to have food and potable water for 15 days. So I'm thinking I'll need general-purpose water for this long.