Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-31-2017, 12:03 PM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Tips? - First trip with fam

About to embark on my first road trip with the fam. Since I am new to this, I was wondering if you guys had any tips I should consider?
Like:
Meals for a week - fridge won't hold that much so I am thinking we have to take an extra cooler. Separate box for dry foods.

We will be plugged in a different RV sites through out the trip and plan on using their showers and toilets, but should I carry a little water while traveling to use the restroom?

Just wondering about different things to consider.

Thanks,
Mark
saenzm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 02:45 PM   #2
BBQ
Platinum Member

#1 Rule (esp for families) -- use the Loo for #1 only.

Save the important stuff for McD or wherever.

BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 02:46 PM   #3
BBQ
Platinum Member

If you are within 1 hour of civilization,
you don't have to stock up too much on food.
Maybe 2 days' worth max.

Save the space for drinks.

BBQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 03:32 PM   #4
Site Team

Quote:
Originally Posted by BBQ View Post

#1 Rule (esp for families) -- use the Loo for #1 only.

Save the important stuff for McD or wherever.
I couldn't disagree more. Use all the technology at your disposal to keep everybody happy. That is what it is for. At least in our case, the proposed "Rule #1" would be death to family harmony.

And, if people prefer the on-board shower to those..."other" facilities, they should be praised for their personal hygiene and totally supported.
avanti is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 04:11 PM   #5
Platinum Member

good mechanical condition?- tires!

smoke/co/lp gas detectors?

do not overpack...space is tight -agree how many days before laundry
carry water- after dinner do dishes right away and store everything