Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-03-2014, 12:55 AM   #1
Bronze Member

Default Water filters built into rv

I am thinking about getting a class B rv. I am a newbie at this. My only experience with rv's is camping with my wife and two kids in my brother's Vanagon pop top camper for a couple of weeks.It was great! I now own a eurovan camper and have enjoyed that but am now getting close to retirement. I think I would like a few more amenities and it look as if the class b fits the bill although it does seem large. I've looked at several class Bs (GWV, LTV, advanced rv among others) and one of the things that is mentioned that some have is a water filter.Is this something that is important or not? Do people use the fresh water tank for drinking water ? Any thoughts or imput would be appreciated . Hoping to join the class b world Jim
Tenbike2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2014, 01:47 AM   #2
Platinum Member

Default Re: Water filters built into rv

Some manufacturers include a fresh water filter. All seem to include a fresh water holding tank of varying capacity. Given fresh water is exposed to incredibly varying conditions ... Cold, sloshing, heat, no movement etc. for unpredictable lengths of time, some campers prefer to use the fresh water for everything except drinking and so the filter is not that important.
Old 12-03-2014, 02:34 AM   #3
Platinum Member

Hi Jim,

I'm new to a B and working through all the systems both while using and in teh driveway with a flashlight and manuals...and gathering info from the web ( thanks web!).

My 2006 Pleasure Way has about a 30 gallon tank - no onboard filter.

Common sense says travel with low tanks so as to save weight- MPG
At a campground with "hook ups" there should be a water supply under pressure with a std garden hose type bib.