Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-05-2020, 02:48 AM   #1
Platinum Member

Default Water Heater

On my last trip I noticed an audible "fluttering" when the LP water heater was going. Suburban SW6D. Don't remember hearing it before. When I looked at it today with the heater door open I could notice that the sound was not a continual "whoosh" rather it fluctuated in sound. I also notice that the flame was blue but with an occasional orange burst around the edges.

Has anyone ever cleaned the burner on this? The manual says that it should be inspected and cleaned if necessary but gives no instructions.

thx.glenn
GallenH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2020, 02:27 PM   #2
Platinum Member

I had trouble with my Suburban SW6D this summer and self taught myself how to work on it. I would first remove the 90 degree curved burner tube and make sure it isn’t plugged (insects, etc). As I recall there is a simple clip on the gas side and a couple screws on the lighting end. Also use a needle and clean out the small gas orifice at the gas end. Look up the service manual online with the parts diagram which is helpful to picture this.

My water heater wouldn’t light so my problem was different. I ended up having to replace the gas valve. It is possible your gas valve is starting to malfunction. I also learned that there are frequent problems with the computer module board at the switch. They now make an improved module board. All of these parts are available on amazon and easy to install.
jrobe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2020, 08:59 PM   #3
Platinum Member

thanks.jrobe
Old 10-07-2020, 04:15 AM   #4
Platinum Member