Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2011, 10:44 AM   #1

Default Serpentine Belt Problems - the long version - WHATS THE CORRECT BELT NUMBER?

Since I'm a total non mechanic im really "in the tall weeds" on this problem

I have a 1996 Rialta with ongoing Serpentine belt issues. I bought the vehicle two years ago when it had 22,000 miles on the odometer and have driven close to 20,000 additional miles....My problem is I have replaced the belt 4 times in 20,000 miles...its eating them....the edge is being stripped off by about a 1/16".

I have spent over $3,000.00 in related repairs and it all started in a VW dealer shop in Saskatoon Saskatchawan where I had to be towed off the interstate when the original belt broke...

Next was 1700 miles down the road in Tok Alaska where during an Oil change the mechanic noted the belt was being cut and in fact I had two belts..one about strip 1/16 to 1/8" wide....he replaced it and off we went

In addition there was a "squirrel cage" sound from the motor area that continued to get louder until on my back thru Tok I stopped for fuel and asked a garage mechanic to take a look...and he diagnosed the sound as a bad timing belt or timing belt pully and warned not to drive since if the belt broke it would destroy the motor???? true?....so new timing belt and new harmonic balancer and the same noise persisted....