Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-23-2020, 06:37 PM   #1
Bronze Member

Question Hitch Cargo Carrier

Hi there,

just wondering if anyone has recommendation for a small hitch-based cargo carrier. There are tons of different models / prices and I have no personal experience with them. (Pleasure Way on Ford E350).

My requirements:
  • Safety first. Goes without saying. Not skimping on that.
  • Can load up to 200 pounds.
  • Does not need a weather-proof box. It'll be some crate / cooler / waterproof bag depending on where we are going. I prefer flexibility over dedicated box.
  • Would be nice if it could fold up when empty. Not essential.
  • Would be great if it could pivot away when I need access to the door.

Thanks!
OSCA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2020, 07:19 PM   #2
Bud
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by OSCA View Post
Hi there,

just wondering if anyone has recommendation for a small hitch-based cargo carrier. There are tons of different models / prices and I have no personal experience with them. (Pleasure Way on Ford E350).

My requirements:
  • Does not need a weather-proof box. It'll be some crate / cooler / waterproof bag depending on where we are going. I prefer flexibility over dedicated box.

Thanks!
It appears that you are not looking for what you stated in the first sentence above "small hitch-based cargo carrier" rather

You have a need for a hitch/platform on which you can create " some crate / cooler / waterproof bag depending on where we are going." There are not so many of those that "Would be great if it could pivot away when I need access to the door."

I use the StowAways II SWINGAWAY HITCH FRAME:

https://www.stowaway2.com/swingaway-hitch-frame