Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-20-2017, 04:22 PM   #1

Question Roadtrek questions about electric

I am new to the rv world. I am currently in the market for a class B diesel on a Mercedes chassis. The models I am most focused on are the Pleasure Way Plateau TS and the Roadtrek Adventurous CS. The salesman vigorously pointed me towards the pleasure way, indicating that the old school technology of propane for generator, heat, etc. is far superior to Roadtrek's all electric. One main point was that if you are camping off the power grid, the air-conditioner is likely to drain all the power before the hot night is over. Can members please advise me on the Roadtrek versus the Pleasure Way? Many thanks, Rob
rob_mtns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2017, 08:46 PM   #2
Platinum Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by rob_mtns View Post
I am new to the rv world. I am currently in the market for a class B diesel on a Mercedes chassis. The models I am most focused on are the Pleasure Way Plateau TS and the Roadtrek Adventurous CS. The salesman vigorously pointed me towards the pleasure way, indicating that the old school technology of propane for generator, heat, etc. is far superior to Roadtrek's all electric. One main point was that if you are camping off the power grid, the air-conditioner is likely to drain all the power before the hot night is over. Can members please advise me on the Roadtrek versus the Pleasure Way? Many thanks, Rob
In established campground few will allow running a generator during night time quiet hours so it is a fallacy that you can run an air conditioner and generator all night. You might try it once and then forever think smart in what kind of camping weather you try. In a off-grid boondocking situation I think it ridiculous to seek the serenity of nature and then despoil it with air conditioners and generators.